Council Structure

About the Council

The Gore District Council has four standing committees that meet on a six-weekly basis. The meetings are usually held on a Tuesday, starting at 4pm in the Council chambers, 29 Bowler Avenue, Gore.

The committees are: 

  • Community Services Committee
  • Operations Committee
  • Regulatory and Planning Committee
  • Finance and Policy Committee

The full Council also meets on a six-weekly basis, in the Council chambers. The meetings are usually on a Tuesday evening, starting at 6.30pm.

There is one community board - the Mataura Community Board. It meets on a Monday, at 5.30pm in the Mataura Elderly Citizens Centre, on a six-weekly basis.

All meetings are notified in the Council's ChinWag Noticeboard, which appears every fortnight in The Ensign. Agendas are available two days prior to meetings at the Civic Centre, Gore Library, Mataura Service Centre and on our Agenda page.

The Council is also represented on various organisations and joint committees.

Other Government agencies

Venture Southland

Venture Southland is a joint initiative of the Invercargill City, Southland District and Gore District Councils. Its overall purpose is to promote Southland, facilitate economic and community development opportunities, and add value to the region.

Environment Southland

Environment Southland is the brand name of the Southland Regional Council - the statutory body responsible for managing the region's natural and physical resources of air, land, water and coast.

Southland District Council

The Southland District Council covers an area of 30,900km² and has a population of 29,613. It is Southland's largest local authority, extending from Te Anau to Bluff.

Invercargill City Council

Invercargill City Council is the local council for Invercargill city and Bluff. It  has a population of more than 51,000 people.

Local Government New Zealand

LGNZ represents the national interests of councils in New Zealand and leads best practice in the local government sector. It provides advocacy and policy services, business support, advice and training to its members to assist them to build successful communities throughout New Zealand.

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: