The most recent local body election was held in October 2016. Full details are available here.

Mataura Community Board by-election official result 

DIXON, Steven (Boko)  128
TAYLOR, Sue  338
Informal 2
Blank 0

Votes Cast 468

Return 44.4%

Electoral System

Local body elections are held every three years.

The Gore District Council, Mataura Community Board, Mataura Licensing Trust and Gore and Districts Health Incorporated use the First-Past-the-Post (FPP) electoral system. The electoral system used for the Southern District Health Board election is the Single Transferable Vote (STV).

Elections are held for the following positions:

  • Gore District Mayor  (FPP) - the mayor is elected by all the District's voters
  • Gore District Councillors (FPP) - 11 councillors to be elected from the District's five wards. These are: Gore Ward (5), Mataura Ward (1), Waikaka Ward (1), Waimumu/Kaiwera Ward (1), District-wide Ward (3)
  • Mataura Community Board (FPP) - 5 members
  • Southern District Health Board, Southland Constituency Members (STV) - 7 members. Only electors ordinarily resident in the Gore District can vote for health board members.
  • Mataura Licensing Trust (FPP) - 9 members to be elected from 7 wards. These are: Tapanui (1), Gore (3), Mataura (1), Rural (1), Edendale (1), Wyndham (1), Tokanui (1). Only electors ordinarily resident in the Gore District can vote for MLT members.
  • Southland Regional Council - Eastern/Dome Constituency (FPP) - 2 members
  • Gore and Districts Health Incorporated (FPP) - 6 members from 3 wards. These are: Gore (4), Clutha (1), Southland (1)

Boundary Maps

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 F: 03 209 0357 E: info@goredc.govt.nz