Candidates for 2019

On this page you will see the candidates for this year's elections.


Gore District Council

Mayor (1 vacancy) 

  • Tracy Hicks (Independent) - nominated by Ian Tulloch and Patricia Morris.

Waikaka Ward (1 vacancy)

  • John Gardyne - nominated by Mervyn Clifford and Sharon Irwin.

Kaiwera-Waimumu Ward (1 vacancy)

  • Stewart MacDonell - nominated by Graham Sharp and Peter Hargest.

Gore Ward (5 vacancies)

  • Glenys Dickson - nominated by Robert Vercoe and Anne La Hood.
  • Adam Duncan - nominated by Phillipa Campbell and Alannah Robinson.
  • Doug Grant - nominated by Ivan Van De Water and Allan Boyer.
  • Nick Grant - nominated by Mary Ogg QSO and Glenn Puna.
  • Bret Highsted - nominated by Karl Metzler and Stephen Coyle.
  • Bronwyn Reid - nominated by Margaret Macgregor and Noeline McDiarmid. 

Mataura Ward (1 vacancy)

  • Neville Phillips - nominated by Nicholas Callick and Wayne Murray.

Council At Large (3 vacancies)

  • Cliff Bolger - nominated by Cyril McFadzien and Allan Ferguson.
  • Nicky Davis - nominated by Nigel Moore and Ralph Beale.
  • Steve (Boko) Dixon - nominated by David McKenzie and Tanya Rowling.
  • Richard McPhail - nominated by Anne La Hood and Michael O Neill QSM.


Mataura Community Board 

(5 vacancies)

  • Greg Chaffey - nominated by Tony Richardson and Corey Millan.
  • Steve (Boko) Dixon - nominated by Susan Neiman and Wayne Neiman.
  • Tanya Rowling - nominated by Steven Dixon and David MacKenzie
  • Linda Sinclair - nominated by Shona Kirby and Philippa Young. 
  • Alan Taylor - nominated by Neil Rogan and Michael Whale
  • Sue Taylor - nominated by Tina Brand and Dorothy Swain
  • Lisa Jayne Thomas - nominated by David Turnbull  and Frederick Kotze.


Mataura Licensing Trust


Ward 1 Tapanui (1 vacancy)

  • Horace McAuley - nominated by Barbara Hanna and Suzanne Wink.

Ward 2 Gore (3 vacancies)

  • Jimmy Allison - nominated by Reymond Rankin and John Tutty.
  • Yvonne Bannerman - nominated by Karl Metzler and David Morrison.
  • Bryan Burgess - nominated by Mark Robinson and Brodie Andrews.
  • Alison Cormack - nominated by Douglas Grant and Julian Morris.
  • Ross Haslemore - nominated by James Marshall and Jarrad Scott.

Ward 3 Mataura (1 vacancy)

  • Yvette Davis - nominated by Tali McLean and Clare Hartnell.
  • Brendon (Moe) Murray - nominated by John Wilson and Tina Brand.

Ward 4 Rural (1 vacancy)

  • Vince Aynsley - nominated by Anthony Copland and Andrew Tripp.

Ward 5 Edendale (1 vacancy)

  • Jeannine Cunningham - nominated by David McKenzie and Denise Fodie.

Ward 6 Wyndham (1 vacancy)

  • Jim McAllister - nominated by Ian Hunter and Lindsay Rodgers.

Ward 7 Tokanui (1 vacancy)

  • Todd Lyders - nominated by Philip Golden and Winston Callahan.


Gore and District Health Inc

Gore Ward (4 vacancies) 

  • Warren Aitken - nomianted by Dennis Terry and Kevin Hammond.
  • Ralph Beale - nominated by Robert Vercoe and Michael Hargest.
  • Peter Goodger - nominated by Dianne Jones and Trevor Taylor.
  • Peter Grant - nominated by Karl Metzler and Lynn MacLean.
  • Alison Moore - nominated by Bronwyn McCall and Jennifer Buchanan.

Clutha Ward (1 vacancy)

  • Cecil Crawford - nominated by Barbara Hanna and Keith Falconer.

Southland Ward (1 vacancy)


The information is also available  on the Election NZ website.

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: