Gore District Community Awards

Nominations are open for the 2020 Gore District Community Awards


The Gore District Community Awards are held each year to celebrate the achievements and commitment of those living in the wider Gore District.

The 2020 Awards will be held at the Gore Town and Country Club stadium on Friday 30 October. 

The various categories cover sport, the environment, performing arts, women in the community, arts and culture, young achievers and customer service. 

The Awards evening includes the presentation of the Council's Civic Award, bestowed annually to an individual or couple who have shown outstanding community attributes. This is awarded by the Mayor.


Nomination Information

Each year the Council calls for nominations in the different categories. Nominees must live within the boundary of Gore and Districts Health Inc. 

The Award categories are:

Mataura Valley Milk Environmental Award: Recognises and celebrates a positive contribution made to improving and/or protecting our environment by a business, individual, school, family, or organisation. The context could be soil improvement, recycling, pest control or conservation, planting, or waterways protection.

Annette & Ian Tulloch Junior Sportsperson of the Year: Recognises the achievements of a junior sportsperson who, by their performance, service and example, has performed to an elite level and is a role model to others. Open to any sportsperson aged 19 years and younger during the qualifying period.

Anderson Lloyd Contribution to Arts and Culture: Recognises an individual or group that has made an exceptional contribution to the arts and/or culture of the Gore District. This may be in promoting the arts, encouraging participation, directing a group, organising an event, or providing others the opportunity to experience the arts.

Sport Southland Community Coach of the Year: Recognises outstanding contributions and achievements by a coach (age group/club/school/representative) at a local, regional, or national level, who is a positive role model and has expressed the ideals of true sportsmanship.

Soroptimist International of Gore Woman of the Year: Recognises the outstanding contribution made by a woman in our community. The contribution could have been in any field (eg  business, community affairs, education, health or politics).

JD Souness Young Achiever: Recognises a young person who has made a significant positive impact on the wider community and has the potential to make an impact on the broader national scale.

Otago Daily Times and The Ensign Services to Sport: Recognises exceptional dedication to a sport. The nominee has demonstrated leadership, has helped with the development and/or growth of the given sport, be it via administration at a local, regional or national level, or in an official’s role (eg umpire). Supporting evidence of longstanding contribution to sport administration may also be taken into account.

Gore Musical Theatre Emerging Performing Artist: Recognises a young person who has made a significant and positive impact in the field of the performing arts (eg drama and/or music performed in front of an audience). Open to any young person aged 15 to 21 years during the qualifying period.

Gore District Mayor Civic Award: This is a special award bestowed by Gore District Mayor Tracy Hicks and the nominees for this award are not disclosed.

Nominations close 5.00pm FRIDAY 18 SEPTEMBER 2020

Nominations can be made online.

online form


Alternatively, forms can be downloaded here [PDF, 1.1 MB] or are available at the Council’s temporary office in Ardwick Street, the Mataura Library and the Gore Visitor Centre.

Completed forms can be emailed to info@goredc.govt.nz or posted to Community Awards Administrator, C/- Gore District Council, PO Box 8, Gore 9740 or returned to the Council temporary offices at James Cumming Wing, 10c Ardwick Street, Gore.


• Nominees must reside in the Gore District Health Inc area (see map) which encompasses West Otago, Southern and Northern Southland as well as the Gore District, or be a member of a club, school or organisation in the Gore District. Gore Health Map [PDF, 695 KB]
• Nominees may be in a paid or voluntary role.
• The qualifying period for all awards is 1 September 2019 – 31 August 2020. All nominations (except for Services to Sport) must focus on achievements within this period. An allowance will be made where delays to the completion of a project or participation in an event was due to COVID-19.
• Nominations may be made by organisations, clubs, coaches, or family/whanau. Self-nominations are also accepted.
• The judging panel reserves the right to consider late nominations, and acknowledges the right of the Gore District Council to lodge pro forma nominations.
• Decisions of the judging panel are final. No correspondence will be entered into.
• There is no restriction on the number of times an award can be won by an individual or group.
• Nominees will be profiled in The Ensign prior to the awards ceremony, please include a high resolution jpeg of the nominee with their nomination form.


• Nominees must consent to their personal details being included in the nomination form. The person nominating is responsible for obtaining the nominee’s consent.
• By submitting this nomination, the person nominating is consenting to the Gore District Council using these details for the purpose of administering and promoting the awards.

Process following close of nominations

• All nominees will be advised in writing of their nomination.
• All nominees will receive one complimentary ticket to the dinner function, to be held on Friday 30 October 2020 at the Gore Town & Country Club stadium. Additional tickets can be purchased prior to tickets going on sale to the general public.
• Any enquiries about the nomination process or the dinner function should be directed to the Gore District Council’s event coordinator Mishel Kaaplan, telephone 209 0388.


Awards presentation

The winners are decided by a panel of judges, which differs for each category. The awards presentation takes place at a dinner. There is a guest speaker and over the years this has included such notables as Rugby World Cup winning coach Sir Graham Henry and broadcaster Peter Williams.

2019 Gore District Community Awards recipients

2018 Gore District Community Awards recipients [PDF, 424 KB]

2017 Gore District Community Awards recipients [PDF, 404 KB]

2016 Gore District Community Awards recipients [PDF, 339 KB]

2013 Gore District Community Awards recipients [PDF, 178 KB]

2012 Gore District Community Awards recipients [PDF, 290 KB]

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: info@goredc.govt.nz