4 November 2016

New councillors sworn in

Gore District Mayor Tracy Hicks and councillors were sworn in for the coming three year term at the Council’s statutory meeting in Gore yesterday.

Four new councillors were welcomed to the ranks: Crs Glenys Dickson and Bronwyn Reid (Gore ward), Cr John Gardyne (Waikaka ward) and Cr Neville Phillips (Mataura ward).

This is Mr Hicks’ fifth term at the helm of the Council. With the return to office of all members of his senior team, he was able to reappoint those who held leadership roles last term.

Cr Cliff Bolger retained his role as Deputy Mayor and chair of the Finance and Policy Committee, while the returning chairs were Cr Peter Grant (Community Services Committee), Cr Nicky Davis (Operations Committee), and Cr Bret Highsted (Regulatory and Planning Committee).

In welcoming councillors Mr Hicks said his focus for the next three years was to ensure essential infrastructure projects continue to be rolled about, as per the Long Term Plan, and to see the Council transform itself into a proactive enabler of business development.

Given this focus on development, the District Growth Committee has been re-established. It will be chaired by Gore businessman Cr Doug Grant.

“The real challenge for this Council is being able to quickly come to grips with the demographic time bomb facing rural communities such as ours.”

Mr Hicks said he was looking forward to working with councillors on the road to building the capability and capacity of the Gore District over the next three years.

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: