Anzac Day services

Service times and details

Gore – Dawn Parade @ 6.30am

  • Will be held at the cenotaph following the parade of ex service personnel, service groups, Scouts, Guides etc, which is to assemble on the corner of Mersey and Main Streets at 6.30am, and be led by the Hokonui Celtic Pipe Band and official wreath bearers.
  • Wreaths may be placed at this service. Please register your names with the RSA before the day.
  • Dress: Mufti and medals.
  • RSA members, participants, and friends are welcome back to the RSA Clubrooms after the Parade.
  • The Gore RSA Bistro will be open for a $15 buffet breakfast from 8.00am to 10.00am. A light lunch from the Bistro will also be available from 12 noon to 2.00pm, and from 5.30pm for dinner.
  • There will be musical entertainment at the clubrooms from 9.30am till 2.00pm.
  • Live video feed from the cenotaph to the RSA clubrooms.
  • Courtesy coach will be available all day. Pickups for the service restricted to returned servicemen, their wives or widows. Please call the RSA to arrange a pick-up.
  • A reserved table has been set aside at the clubrooms for Returned Soldiers.
  • Guest Speakers: NZDF and Clutha-Southland MP Hamish Walker.

Balfour – 10.00am

  • The parade departs from the sportsground gates at 9.50am for a service at the Balfour Hall, at 10.00am, followed by wreath laying at the new War Memorial.
  • Cup of tea and refreshments will be provided following the service.
  • Parade Marshall: Henry Bennett
  • Guest Speaker: Mike Newell - Northern Southland College

Dunrobin – 12.30pm (to follow the Heriot service)

Edendale – 9.00am

  • The public is invited to the Edendale service at the war memorial.
  • Parade to assemble at the baths at 8.45am.
  • Seaward Downs: Wreath laying at 11.00am, followed by a cup of tea.

Heriot – 11.00am

  • Assemble at the Heriot Community Centre at 11.00am.
  • The flag raising ceremony is at the completion of the service.
  • Everyone is welcome for refreshments at the community centre at the completion of the service.
  • Chairman: Gloria Hutchon
  • Guest Speaker: Gary Moody

Lumsden – 7.00am

  • The service will be held at the monument at 7.00am.
  • Assemble at the Lumsden Memorial Hall at 6.45am.
  • Cup of tea/coffee at the conclusion of the service.

Mataura – 7.00am

  • Assemble at the Mataura butcher shop, in Bridge Street, at 6.45am.
  • Minister: Rev Tau Ben Unu
  • Special address at the RSA clubrooms following the service, along with refreshments

Mossburn – 7.00am

  • A service will be held at the Senior Citizens Rooms at 7.00am.
  • Assemble at the Senior Citizens Rooms from 6.45am.
  • Refreshments to follow service, everyone welcome.

Pukerau – 9.30am

  • A service will be held at the Memorial Gates at 9.30am.
  • There will be a morning tea at the Community Centre following the service, ladies a plate please.
  • Padre: Rev Bruce Cavanagh

Riversdale – 10.00am

  • The service will commence in the Community Centre at 10.00am. Following the service, the parade will march to the Cenotaph for the wreath laying.
  • Morning tea will follow at the Community Centre. Everyone welcome.
  • Chairman: Peter O'Connor.
  • Chaplain: Mrs Lois Shallard.
  • Guest Speaker: Dr Ken Hodge.
  • Parade Marshall: Brian Church.

Tapanui – 9.30am

  • The service will be held at the Community Centre at 9.30am.
  • Following the service everyone is welcome back to the RSA Clubrooms for a cup of tea and refreshments.
  • Chairman: Horace McAuley
  • Parade Marshall: Bill Roulston
  • Guest Speaker: Beverley Ludemann - speaking about her father's war diaries./

Te Anau – 11.00am

  • Special Dawn Service to be held at 7.00am - assemble at Te Anau Club at 6.50am
  • Anzac Day Service will be held at 11:00am at the Memorial Park
  • 10:45am Assemble for main parade outside Paper Plus
  • Kapa Haka
  • 10.55am Parade along Main St to the flagpole at Memorial Park (Te Anau lakefront, opposite the Real Journeys office)
  • Refreshments will be at the Te Anau Club following the service.
  • Chaplain: Rev Craig Allan
  • Guest Speaker: Sean Cantwell and MP Hamish Walker

Tuturau – 11.00am

  • The service will be held at 11.00am at the Tuturau War Memorial.
  • Minister: Rev Tau Ben Unu
  • Lunch to follow at the Tuturau Hall

Waikaia – 10.00am

  • A service will be held at the Community Centre at 10.00am, followed by a cup of tea a the Waikaia recreation centre.
  • Chairman: Andrew Dickson
  • Parade Marshall: Ray Dickson
  • Chaplain: Chris Waples
  • Guest Speaker: David Luoni

Waikaka – 10.00am

  • The Waikaka Anzac Committee invites members and the general public to participate in its service to be held at the Waikaka Centennial Hall.
  • The scout flag raising ceremony will begin at 9.55am.
  • The march to the war memorial for wreath laying will follow the service.
  • Chairman: Hugh Gardyne
  • Parade Marshall: W>O> Grant Traill
  • Chaplain: Rev Doug Stevenson
  • Guest Speaker: Dougal Stringer
  • The service will be followed by a luncheon for all attending. Families a plate please.

Waikoikoi - 2.00pm

  • A service will be held at unveil the new monument.

Waimumu/Te Tipua – 10.00am

  • A service will be held at the Waimumu-TeTipua Hall at 10.00am.
  • At the conclusion morning tea will be served in the hall. All welcome.

Wendon - 2.30pm

  • A service will be held at the Wendon Hall.
  • Morning team will be served in the hall at the conclusion

Wendonside - 12.30pm

  • An Anzac Service will be held at the monument to commemorative 100 years since the monument was constructed. All welcome.

Wyndham – 8.00am

  • Assemble at the town square at 7.45am. Parade will commence with a wreath laying ceremony at the War Memorial.
  • Following the ceremony morning tea and refreshments will be held at the Evangelical Church.

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: