Youth Council

What is the Gore District Youth Council?


The Youth Council was formed in 2008. It provides a forum where the views of young people are heard, enables youth to work with Council staff and elected members to initiate and support programmes, and acts as a link between young people and the Council. It also participates in the planning of youth-focused and inter-generational events.

2019 youth council

Youth councillors for 2019 are: 

Sarah Chisholm JB Acuna
Georgie Crowley Abby Gutschlag
Myah Kortbaoui Laura Heads
Emily Chamberlain Brayden Scott
Luca Patching Zac Samson
Hamish Goatley Neve Connorton
Ira Miranda Natasha Bedwell
Eryn Phillipson Sophie Crawford
Leah Murray David de Klerk
Saffie Hare Keeley Wilson
Flynn Chamberlain Olivia Crawford


The Youth Council consists of: 

  • Young people aged between 12 to 24 years,
  • A maximum membership of 21 young people, with 10 representing the Gore District at large and 11 from local secondary schools and Longford Intermediate,
  • Youth who are committed to regularly attending meetings.


Members are required to:

  • Attend Youth Council meetings held at six weekly intervals,
  • Be available to attend other training and meetings that may occur,
  • Contribute to the planning of events held throughout the year,
  • Pass Youth Council information on to their networks,
  • Assist the Council to canvass youth views,
  • Read agendas, minutes and reports, and come to meetings prepared.

Activities undertaken include:

  • Supporting and planning Gore Youth Awards
  • Successful Youth Week
  • Clash of the Youth Councils
  • Interacting with local businesses to hold a district-wide mufti day funds going to St Johns Ambulance
  • Cheap Movie Night
  • Pink Shirt Day to raise awareness against Bullying
  • Ice Party
  • Cheap Movie Night
  • Attend ANZAC dawn service
  • Kidzone event

Helpful Links

Youth Council on Facebook

Gore District Council 29 Bowler Avenue Gore P: 03 209 0330 E: